

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 2023

Held Thursday 27 April 2023.

1. Apologies for Absence

Apologies were received and noted at the meeting. Apologies and attendees are attached at Appendix A.

2. Deaths and Resignations

Membership numbers, deaths and resignations were noted as attached at Appendix B.

3. Minutes of the last Annual General Meeting (28 April 2022)

The minutes from the 2022 AGM were agreed by those present as an accurate record of proceedings.

Proposer – Andrew Boagey

Seconder – Stephen McCormick

4. Matters Arising

It was agreed that all matters for discussion would be covered under the Chair's report.

5. Chair's Report

The Chair gave a presentation to the AGM. Refer to the attached Chair's presentation.

6. Accounts for 2022

The Secretary (Treasurer) presented the end of year accounts at December 2022 to the AGM.

Refer to the attached Secretary's report as part of the Chair's presentation.

The accounts for 2022 were agreed by all present.

Proposer – Tim Kendell

Seconder – Malcolm Pearce

It was agreed that there should be no change to the subscription rates for 2024.

Proposer – Bruce Simpson

Seconder – Ralph Bayley

7. Election of Chair for 2023/24

Stephen McCormick was proposed as Chair for a one-year period.

All those present agreed.

8. Election of Deputy Chair for 2023/24

Andrew Boagey was proposed as Deputy Chairman for a one-year period.

Proposer – David Coles Seconder – Tim Kendell

All those present agreed.

9. Election of Secretary for 2023/24

Jian Li Chew was proposed as Secretary (Treasurer) for a one-year period.

All those present agreed.

10. Election of Management Committee for 2023/24

The following nominees were proposed for election to the RCEA Management Committee:

David Coles, Gabriel Azevedo, Gavin Jessamy, Tom Bates, Bruce Simpson.

All those present agreed.

11. Election of Membership Secretary for 2023/24

Chris Wheeldon was proposed as Membership Secretary for 2023/4.

All those present agreed.

12. Appointment of Examiners

Simon Blanchflower and Andy Savage were proposed as Internal Examiners for 2023/24.

All those present agreed.

13. 2023/24 Programme

Details of forthcoming events are published on the RCEA website.

14. Any Other Business

Tim Kendell requested that the RCEA acknowledged the contribution of the following Engineers to the Railway Industry. Both Engineers have recently passed away:

Philip Rees OBE – Chief Engineer of BR(GW) from 1976 to 1983. Ken Hayson – Assistant Chief Engineer of Southern Rail.

15. Date of 2024 AGM

Date of 2024 AGM – Thursday 25 April, 5pm.

Appendix A

Apologies to the AGM are listed below:

Bill Pilkington Andy Savage Martyn Back David Hill Smith Simon Blanchflower

Member Attendees

Jonathan Gammon Tim Kendell Ralph Bayley Tony Roberts Malcolm Pearce Bruce Simpson Lewis Cawte

Committee Members

Jonathan Buttery
Jian Li Chew
Andrew Boagey
David Coles
Chris Wheeldon
Stephen McCormick

On-Line Attendees

Paul Evans Carlo Borri Chris Hyde

Appendix B

RCEA

Category	No	
Graduate & Students	9	
Honorary	26	
Retired	69	
Standard	286	
Young Professional	17	
Total	407	

Membership data as at 5/4/2023:

Number of deceased members since last AGM = 6

Mr AMJ Wood – joined 1999 Mr JW Doidge CEng MICE

Mr DH Stuckey – joined 1999

Dr WJ Harvey BSc PhD CEng FICE MIStructE - joined 2004

Mr I R Clough CEng MICE – joined 1999

Mr RW Collingwood BSc CEng FICE – joined 1999

Resignations since last AGM = 4

New members since last AGM = 32