

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 2024

Held Thursday 25 April 2024.

1. Apologies for Absence

Apologies were received and noted at the meeting. Apologies and attendees are attached at Appendix A.

2. Deaths and Resignations

Membership numbers, deaths and resignations were noted as attached at Appendix B.

A one minute silence was held for those members who had passed away since the last AGM.

3. Minutes of the last Annual General Meeting (27 April 2023)

The minutes from the 2023 AGM were agreed by those present as an accurate record of proceedings.

Proposer – Tim Kendell Seconder – Jonathan Buttery

4. Matters Arising

It was agreed that all matters for discussion would be covered under the Chair's report.

5. Chair's Report

The Chair gave a presentation to the AGM. Refer to the attached Chair's presentation.

Stephen McCormick (SMcC) reported that the ICE had reduced meeting room availability at One Great George Street by 50% from 10 events per annum to 5 events per annum from 2024 onwards. The remaining events would be held regionally or online only.

SMcC ran through the events held in 2023, highlighting the topics, timing, attendance figures and location.

This overview included the 'Lunch & Learn' sessions held to date, including the very popular lunch and learn session on Fire Safety Design for Station Schemes.

6. Accounts for 2023

The Secretary (Treasurer) presented the end of year accounts at December 2023 to the AGM.

Refer to the attached Secretary's report as part of the Chair's presentation.

The accounts for 2023 were agreed by all present.

Proposer – Simon Blanchflower Seconder – Tim Kendell

All those present agreed that there should be no change to the subscription rates for the 2025 subs year.

Proposer – Jonathan Buttery Seconder – Stephen McCormick

7. Election of Chair for 2024/5

Stephen McCormick was proposed as Chair for a one-year period.

All those present agreed.

8. Election of Deputy Chair for 2024/5

A Deputy Chair was not elected.

It was agreed that committee members would step in to support the Chair when they were not available, in the absence of a Deputy Chair.

9. Election of Secretary for 2024/5

Jian Li Chew was proposed as Secretary (Treasurer) for a one-year period.

All those present agreed.

10. Election of Management Committee for 2024/5

The following nominees were proposed for election to the RCEA Management Committee:

David Coles, Tom Bates and Bruce Simpson.

All those present agreed.

There were no nominations from the floor for any of the elected member positions.

11. Election of Membership Secretary for 2024/5

Chris Wheeldon was proposed as Membership Secretary for 2024/5.

All those present agreed.

12. Appointment of Examiners

Simon Blanchflower and Andy Savage were proposed as Internal Examiners for 2024/25.

All those present agreed.

13. 2024/5 Programme

Details of forthcoming events are published on the RCEA website.

14. Any Other Business

No items were raised.

15. Date of 2025 AGM

Date of 2025 AGM – Thursday 24 April, 5pm.

Appendix A

Apologies to the AGM are listed below:

Mervyn Carter David Hill Smith Andy Savage David Coles

Member Attendees

Juneid Bokhari
David Mould
Simon Blanchflower
Tim Kendell
Ralph Bayley
Malcolm Pearce
Bill Pilkington
Tony Roberts
Dick Dunmore
David McLaughlin

Committee Members

Stephen McCormick Chris Wheeldon Bruce Simpson David Coles Jian Li Chew Jonathan Buttery Kumayl Walji Rob Galloway Andrew Boagey Prospect Motsi

Appendix B

RCEA

Membership data as at 5/4/24:

Category	No	
Graduate & Students	15	
Honorary	23	
Retired	65	
Standard	304	
Young Professional	23	
Total	430	

Number of deceased members since last AGM = 3

Mr H McKenna	13/10/1999
Mr D J Ayres	25/07/2012
Mr D J A Hobbs	12/10/1999

Resignations since last AGM = 22

New members since last AGM = 23